Paleo Style Spaghetti & Meatballs: What’s Cookin Wednesday

It’s Wednesdayyyyy, so here’s your recipe for the week!

I don’t eat much meat, but I also don’t cut anything out. It’s funny how everyone assumes I’m a vegan or vegetarian, but I like to think of myself as a nutritarian… I simply try and get as many nutrients in my body per calories I eat. And that my friends,  is the secret to a healthy, long, beautiful life!

Paleo has been getting a LOT of hype recently, and I certainly agree with a lot of the research and theories, we’d all be better off without all of the processed flour and sugar since that’s the root of most aging, inflammation, and disease that we see today. But once again, I don’t place any strict rules on myself, so I still enjoy some good ol grains every once in awhile. But with a recipe like this you don’t even miss the pasta!! So here’s my spin on a family favorite inspired by FoodBabe:

Turkey Meatballs & Spaghetti Squash

MeatBalls

  • 1 spaghetti squash
  • 1 pound ground turkey (antibiotic free!!)
  • 1 egg beaten
  • black pepper to taste
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt (love celtic or himalayan- the pretty pink one. And remember the more color=more minerals=less sodium)
  • 1 jar of your fav organic tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese (for topping)
  • SEASONING: (I know most of us college kids don’t have a pantry full of seasonings, so you can use 1 heaping tsp of italian seasoning- every pantry must have, + 1/4 tsp garlic powder)
    • OR 1/4 EACH of
      • oregano
      • rosemary
      • thyme
      • sage

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Slice spaghetti squash in half and remove all seeds with spoon
  3. Place spaghetti squash face down on large baking sheet, add ½ cup water and cover with foil
  4. Cook spaghetti squash for 45 mins
  5. While spaghetti squash is cooking, mix together remaining ingredients (except cheese) in a large bowl
  6. Make 2 tbsp size meatballs with hands and place on a greased cookie sheet
  7. Bake for 20 mins (along side the spaghetti squash) (turning half way through)
  8. Remove turkey meatballs from oven, and place into a pan with sauce, warm sauce thoroughly
  9. Remove spaghetti squash and scrap insides
  10. Place spaghetti squash in a bowl and pour sauce and meatballs on top
  11. Sprinkle with parmesan cheese and enjoy!

 

**Superstar tip: I ALWAYS buy turkey meat that is not raised with antibiotics and from humane farms – if it isn’t available at the market I’m at, I don’t buy it and choose something else eat. The amount of antibiotics used to raise animals is a huge concern because it’s causing superbugs in our ecosystem. These superbugs are resistant to lifesaving antibiotics and threaten the entire human population. In 2011, 30 million pounds of antibiotics were sold to the farming industry—nearly four times more than were sold to treat people! -FoodBabe

 

In Love, Happiness and Health

Laney

Leave a Reply

