Friday Favs: My Secrets for Silky Skin

People as me all the time,

“what do you do for your skin, it’s literally glowing!”

Well it’s your lucky day because you’re going to get the inside scoop, because not too long ago I was envying people with great skin. Keeping these secrets to myself is just selfish!

I’ll share my secrets for perfect complexion next friday… but today you’re going to learn how to have your BEST skin- glowing, silky smooth, ageless, & fresh! 

download

Fav Skin Secret #1: Olive Oil Soap

I’ve always had extremely dry skin, especially at this time of year with the heaters kicking on and the bitter coldness outside zapping my skin of life! I’ve tried every lotion, body wash, and trick in the book. I lathered myself religiously with coconut oil the second I stepped out of the shower- which is still a great option! But I found something that has far surpassed anything. 

Olive Oil Bar soap:

Olive oil’s benefits don’t stop at your salad bowl! Since ancient times people have taken advantage of the skin-softening benefits of this miracle oil. Olive oil soap cleans your skin without stripping away the natural oils– unlike every body wash you find at the store- so you don’t end up with flaky dry skin. Most soaps contain toxic and irritating fragrances, alcohols, and chemicals that block pores, seep into your bloodstream (your skin is your largest organ and what you put on it is directly absorbed into your bloodstream–> toxin buildup) and leave it stripped.

Olive oil soap is also antioxidant rich, helping keep your skin youthful and healthy.

Aside from the science, I know from experience that when I ditched my body wash for a bar I picked up at my local farmer’s market my skin has transformed overnight. For the first time in my life I haven’t even needed lotion, despite being the driest time of year, my skin is literally silky smooth, no longer “ashy” and dull. I will never ever ever buy any other soap again or lotion for that matter because I truly don’t need it! My body has regulated to secrete the oil needed to keep my skin smooth, versus supplementing it with lotions.

Keep an eye out for it in health food stores, Kiss My Face makes a great one too that’s in most stores (spotted at Kroger) with delicious scents and is probably cheaper than the soap you use now! Or when in doubt, Amazon.

 

Secret #2: Top 8 Beauty Foods

Did you know that most dry skin issues actually start from the inside?? Aka, what you eat! Here’s my top list of

8 FOODS TO EAT EVERYDAY FOR BEAUTIFUL SKIN:

  1. Avocados
  2. Red Bell Peppers
  3. Coconut in all forms
  4. Spinach
  5. Sweet Potatoes
  6. Cucumbers
  7. Nuts and Seeds– almonds, walnuts, pumpkin seeds etc
  8. Lemon

Fruits & Veggies in general: Antioxidants are only found here, and they are the key to reversing aging, skin damage, inflammation, and everything else under the sun you could imagine. Did you know you are supposed to get AT LEAST 7 servings of raw fruits and veg everyday just to maintain a healthy body? If you’re like the 90% of Americans who don’t, you should seriously consider this.

 

I hope you take advantage of these secrets so you can have your healthiest and most beautiful skin ever!

 

In love, happiness and health,

Delaney ❤

Leave a Reply

